End of Year 2009 Report

Well I finally found the time to post the pictures of the End of year 2009 event. It was my first time attending it and found myself satisfied when leaving. I saw lots of familiar faces and booths from the Comic Fiesta not too ago, as well as familiar artworks seen at the Anime Festival Asia 2009. Besides the artists there were a few tables selling cosplay equipment, assorted figures and other goodies.

I heard the venue was different to last years but it just was too small and cramped as the place was filling up since the morning. The lighting was excellent for photos so I was happy with that. Many photographers and bloggers arrived on the scene adding to already large crowd. The highlight of the day was the Yui Makino concert that was start in the evening which required a separate ticket, however she would later do a mini performance for EOY ticket holders in the auditorium.

Cosplay

As predicted mass amounts of cosplayers turned up as you can see from the photos below. As you can see the lighting was so good that some shots were just too bright and made people glow. I really really really need a DSLR, give me your Nikon D5000 Crimotaku!

PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

I swear I don’t have an obsession for those last two chicks. I feel like playing Final Fantasy XIII now though, even though I’m not a big fan.

Artwork

As you may have noticed if you were there on the day itself, a lot of artworks there were also at the Anime Festival Asia 2009,  however there were artworks that were exclusive to here as there might be reasons why they did not get displayed there. One of the artworks has a striking resemblance to the Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha series. Can you guess which one?

PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Photobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Photobucket

Concert Hall / Auditorium

The earlier band and vocal performances were over around noon so crowds lessened in the auditorium. I took this chances to secure a front seat before the next set of performances begun.

Photobucket

Solo Cosplay Competition

First up was the solo cosplay competition. The contestants can be seen below.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Photobucket

The contests were Jr Snake Eyes (G.I Joe), Lu Bu (Dynasty Warriors), Suu (Clover), Ichigo (Bleach), Rude (Final Fantasy VII), Kanda (D. Gray-man), Kamen Rider (Kamen Rider Decade), Haruhi (The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya), Alex Marcer (Prototype), Lenalee Lee and (D.Gray-man).

Congratulations to Rude (Final Fantasy) who came out with first prize, however I felt that Lu Bu (Dynasty Warriors) should have one as he clearly put the a lot of effort in his costume, but that’s just my personal opinion

Group Cosplay Competition

Followed by the group cosplay competition. There were 4 teams, all required to do a short performance as well as a few group poses for the photographers at the end. The 4 teams and their performances and final poses can be seen below.

Team: The Idol M@sters
Series: Idolm@ster

PhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Team: The Genesis of the War on Genesis
Series: The War on Genesis

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Photobucket

Team: YuRiPa~fume
Series: Final Fantasy X-2


Photobucket

Team: Team Baka Ninja
Series: Guilty Gear

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Photobucket

And the winner is…The Genesis of the War on Genesis (I think, someone correct me if I’m wrong).  Nicely incorporated K-pop songs which pretty much won the crowd over.

Black Alice Loli Fashion Runaway

Up next is the Black Alice Loli Fashion Runaway. It’s safe to say those dresses cost a bomb.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Yui Makino Mini Performance

Finally the highlight of the day, Yui Makino’s Mini Performance. I was surprised they allowed photography and video to be recorded doing the performance as it is not allowed at the main (paid) performance. She played and sung 3 songs, one being her newest song Fuwa Fuwa (I thought it was Fuwa Fuwa Time from K-ON! when she mentioned it) from her newest single. Her first few songs performed were “Amrita” and “You are my love”.

I found her voice to be very soothing and heavenly. She is indeed very talented, hope to see more in the anime industry. Below is a short video of her performance. I would have had more recorded if my camera’s battery didn’t run flat.

Here’s the almost complete performance courtesy of Ooga84.

Overall

Anyway for those who were not there, there was a little event guide given out. Found the cover a little interesting as it had chibi drawings of various anime characters of a variety of series. Can you recognize and name them all? I got about 90% of them.

Photobucket

There was a crossword inside, obviously it’s too late to win the prize. I would have entered but I couldn’t answer them all so I gave up hehe. Do you know all the answers?

Photobucket

Overall I had fun, I say the $15 was well spent as I did mention this was my first End of Year event, it left a good impression and I would like to return for next years if there is another.

3 Responses to End of Year 2009 Report

  1. zh3us says:

    I cannot believe i missed you again. =(

  2. […] Polytechnic last Saturday. This being my first Start of Year, however not my first cosplay event (End of Year 2009 was my first), so I expected lots of awesome performances and general […]

Leave a Reply

